4 years and 7 days. Merry belated Christmas. The holidays are most difficult.

https://i0.wp.com/www.silversuperstore.com/photos/lenox/ornaments/porcelain/2016/2016-lenox-a-year-to-remember-snowman-800x800.jpg

My dearest Shosh and Jaialai:

Do you recall our tradition of choosing and making our own Christmas ornaments every year?  I miss that.  I hope someone protects the ones we have made so that you can have them for yourselves and your own families when you are older.  (However, I fear the thugs may have destroyed them as when they stripped the clothes off Little V’s fabric doll and illegally seized highly confidential and privileged notes and documents to and from our lawyers about our case.  Unfortunately, we are not the only ones wronged.  See, e.g., https://www.themarshallproject.org/2017/01/09/the-punishing-price-of-freedom?ref=hp-3-111#.Wri5eLSAd; http://chicago.suntimes.com/news/chicago-police-misconduct-findings-released-today-by-ag-lynch/; and, https://www.justice.gov/opa/pr/justice-department-announces-findings-investigation-chicago-police-department.)

I hope you enjoyed the holidays this year.  I know the absence must be as hard for you boys as it is for us.  Life, and the holidays, is simply not the same without you.  The rainbows are less magical, the birds sing less sweetly, the rising sun less promising.

They say time heals all wounds.  They lied.  They say I should move on with my life.  How do I move on when most of my heart — the best part — is missing?

You are the best part of me.  Don’t you ever forget that.  My hopes and dreams lie with you.  That’s why it is extremely difficult, if not impossible, to have hope for, and dreams about, the future with you absent.

All my love, always,

Dad

Leave a Reply

