2 years and 174 days. Let go and just be. But, be the best you can be.

The Scorpion and the Frog

A scorpion and a frog meet on the bank of a stream and the 
scorpion asks the frog to carry him across on its back. The 
frog asks, "How do I know you won't sting me?" The scorpion 
says, "Because if I do, I will die too."

The frog is satisfied, and they set out, but in midstream,
the scorpion stings the frog. The frog feels the onset of 
paralysis and starts to sink, knowing they both will drown,
but has just enough time to gasp "Why?" 

Replies the scorpion: "Its my nature..."

My dearest Shosh and Jaialai:

A guy I know smacked his dog on the head for trying to bite a frog that got into the house.  (This is a guy who supposedly loved dogs so much that he almost came to blows with a bunch of strangers he thought were playing too rough with their dog.)  The dog guards the house, and has bitten snakes, lizards, and other creatures that have attempted to gain entry to his domain.

He is a dog.  It is in his nature to bite strangers and strange creatures that try to get into his house.

Dog bites.  Scorpion stings.  Tiger has stripes.   There is evil in the world.  There is also goodness and beauty in the world.

Life is … what it is.  You are … who you are.  Just be.

Let go of the illusion of control.  The truth is we have very little control over what life deals us.

Look at me!  I worked hard to get advanced degrees from top schools in the U.S., and worked hard at solving problems  and being successful at my jobs.  Frequently, I got 15-30 percent salary increases to reflect my contributions.  But, after blowing the whistle against the insurance company for defrauding the sick and dying, my career ended, as did my marriage to your mother, etc.  (My experience is no different from those of other whistle blowers, http://usatoday30.usatoday.com/money/companies/management/2004-07-29-whistle-blower-main_x.htm.)  Look at the evils inflicted on our family by liars and corrupt individuals!

Learn to accept what is, and focus on changing only what you can.  For example, if it is not, it is hot.  There is no use complaining about the heat.  Dress as cool as you can, hydrate, and go on with life.  Sitting around and complaining about how hot it is won’t get you any cooler, but may make you more miserable because you keep focusing on the discomfort.

Make Your World Bigger this summer with Discovery…

(I love Ed Stafford in the television show “Marooned”.  Without clothes or so much of a knife, he is dropped off in the wild and tries to thrive on his own in difficult conditions.  In one episode, he hadn’t had water for a while and was very thirsty, but simply made up his mind to smile and accept it until he could do something about it later.)

By saying accept what is, I do not mean that you adopt a defeatist attitude and simply give up bettering yourself and improving your tiny corner of the world.  No.  Be you, but be the best you.

All my love, always,

Dad

The Serenity Prayer

God grant me the serenity to accept the things I cannot change; courage to change the things I can; and wisdom to know the difference. Living one day at a time; Enjoying one moment at a time; Accepting hardships as the pathway to peace; Taking, as He did, this sinful world as it is, not as I would have it; Trusting that He will make all things right if I surrender to His Will; That I may be reasonably happy in this life and supremely happy with Him Forever in the next. Amen.

 

Leave a Reply

