2 years and 166 days. Be adventurous.

An adventure is only an inconvenience rightly considered. An inconvenience is only an adventure wrongly considered.  G.K. Chesterton

My dearest Shosh and Jaialai:

Remember when Jaialai used to say, “Dad, let’s go somewhere we’ve never been before.”  I loved that!  I miss that.

Boys, have a sense of adventure.  It will make life a lot more interesting.

Life is a journey, not a destination.  Have a sense of adventure, and enjoy the .

Whether you plan on it or not, life will find ways to give you adventures.  So why not embrace life and all the adventures she offers.  Enjoy the ride … or at least make the most of it.

For example, one of my best days backpacking Europe was when, after a long night, I got off the train early the next at the wrong station and found myself in a small town in the middle of nowhere.  The next train wasn’t scheduled to arrive for hours, so I ended wandering through the village and surrounding countryside.  I had an amazing time.  On another occasion, I got lost in the maze that is Tokyo, and ended up coming across a dojo where kids were practicing kendo.  I whiled away the afternoon mesmerized by this unfamiliar dance/martial art.  (I tried, but never found my way back to that dojo.)  Look at what is now happening to us?  I couldn’t have guessed it in a million years!  Could you?  (Not all adventures are positive, but each gives us a chance to test our mettle, and grow in character.)

So don’t be a sourpuss.  Don’t be a cynic.  No one likes negativity, negative energy, or a negative person.  In fact, a recent study found that less cynical people earn more money and live longer than their counterparts.  https://www.psychologytoday.com/blog/what-mentally-strong-people-dont-do/201506/cynical-attitude-could-cost-you.

By the way, just to be clear, when I say “have a sense of adventure,” I DO NOT mean do stupid and senseless things that many idiots do on YouTube or that could get you in trouble with the law.  What I mean is try new activities, eat new foods, read new and different books, meet new peoples, explore your world, and expand your horizons.  That is what I want you.  And, that, is what I wish to God I could be there to help you learn.

All my love, always,

Dad

Leave a Reply

