2 years 164 days. The only person you can count on is … yourself.

My dearest Shosh and Jaialai:

Today was a rough day.  But, it reminded me of the one, inescapable and fundamental lessons in life: at the end of the day, the only person you can ALWAYS count on is yourself.

Don’t get me wrong, I want you two to always take care of each other and be there for each other.  You are brothers!

But, in life, that may not always be possible.  So, be prepared to go it alone when and if necessary.

I pray and hope that you will find loved ones and dear friends who will be there through thick and thin.  As a parent, I hope and pray your path will be an easy one.  However, as a parent, I also have a responsibility for preparing you for whatever life throws at you.  Toward that end, I want you to steel yourself for those occasions when you must have courage to follow your conscience and go it alone if necessary.

You are always in my heart and my thought.

All my love, always,

Dad

Leave a Reply

